Harrow County School for Boys

Rugby - 1st XV 1952/3

This photograph was sent in by John Berge, who has identified the names.

From The Gaytonian, July 1953:  "During the Rugby season 1952-53, the 1st XV remained unbeaten throughout, the first time that such a feat has been accomplished in the history of the Rugby Club.  The 1st XV played twenty matches, of which they won 17 and drew 3, scoring 349 points and only conceding 37.  This great success is largely due to the excellent coaching of Mr. Gerwyn Williams, and the fine example set ny the captain, R. J. Tapper.  Ten members of the team were chosen to represent the Middlesex Grammar Schools XV, those represented being Tapper, Norman, Wells, Maddock, Mettler, Taylor, Clarke, Lawson, Parkinson and Yass.  Tapper, Norman, Wells and Maddock also represented the Middlesex Public Schools' XV.  For the second year running the school was honoured by one of its members gaining a place in the England Schools' XV.  D. V. Maddock gained two caps, and Norman and Wells were chosen as reserves."

Back Row (L-R):  Dave Parkinson, Mike Easy, 'Ziggy' Needleman, 'Nobby' Clarke, Len Taylor, Gordon Catto, Vic Forrington, Peter Mettler, Irving Yass

Front Row:  Bernard Lord, Alan Lawson, Geoff Norman, 'Swanny' Amos, Roy Tapper, Gerwyn Williams, Alan Wells, Dave Maddock, John Berge.


return HOME